Call for Papers

6th Workshop on Statistical Parsing of Morphologically Rich Languages (SPMRL 2015)


Co-located with IWPT 2015, July 23rd in Bilbao, Basque Country, Spain

Deadlines: June 10 (long+short paper)

Invited Speaker: Daniel Zeman (Charles-University Prague),
"From the Jungle to a Park: Harmonizing Annotations across Languages"


Statistical parsing of morphologically-rich languages has repeatedly been shown to exhibit non-trivial challenges including, among others, sparse lexica in the face of rich inflectional systems, parsing deficiency in the face of free word order and treebank annotation idiosyncrasies in the face of morphosyntactic interactions.

Areas of interest

The areas of interest of the SPMRL workshop include, but are not limited to, the following list of topics:

  • Applying cutting-edge parsing techniques to new languages and domains; Insights and techniques that are targeted at improving parsing quality for morphologically-rich languages.
  • Strengths and weaknesses of current parsing techniques when applied to morphologically-rich languages.
  • Approaches to integrate syntactic parsing with associated tasks such as segmentation, morphological disambiguation, or semantic structure building.
  • Using insights from parsing and associated processing problems to motivate decisions in the creation of syntactically annotated corpora in new languages, domains, and/or varieties; suitability of language-universal annotation schemes from a processing viewpoint.

Important Dates

Submission deadline June 10, 2015
Author notification June 24, 2015
Camera ready copy July 10, 2015
Workshop July 23, 2015

How to Submit

We solicit both long papers and short papers.

Long papers (up to 9 pages excluding references) are most appropriate for presenting substantial and completed research.

Short papers (up to 5 pages excluding references) are suited for presenting work in progress, position papers or short, focused contributions.

Both long and short papers should present original, unpublished research. They will be peer reviewed and will be presented either as an oral talk or as a poster at the workshop, and be included in the workshop proceedings.

Authors of accepted short papers who do not want their papers included in the proceedings have the alternative option of linking to a non-archival version of their paper (e.g. a preprint on

Submissions will be accepted until June 10th, 2015 (11:59, PST) in PDF format via the START system:

Please use the EACL 2014 stylefiles (A4 paper size, available in LaTeX and Word versions).
In case of technical problems or questions, please ask Yannick Versley (versley at cl dot uni-heidelberg dot de).


  • Marie Candito (Univ. Paris Diderot / Alpage, France)
  • Jinho D. Choi (Emory University, US)
  • Yannick Versley (Univ. Heidelberg, Germany)

Program committee

  • Miguel Ballesteros (Univ. Pompeu Fabra, Spain)
  • Bernd Bohnet (Google, Inc.)
  • Özlem Cetinoglu (IMS Stuttgart, Germany)
  • Grzegorz Chrupala (Univ. Tilburg, Netherlands)
  • Matthieu Constant (Univ. Marne La Vallée, France)
  • Benoît Crabbé (Univ. Paris Diderot, France)
  • Gülsen Eryigit (Istanbul Technical Univ., Turkey)
  • Richárd Farkas (Univ. Szeged, Hungary)
  • Jennifer Foster (Dublin City Univ, Ireland)
  • Yoav Goldberg (Bar Ilan Univ., Israel)
  • Spence Green (Stanford Univ., USA)
  • Samar Husain (IIT Delhi, India)
  • Sandra Kübler (Indiana Univ., USA)
  • Joseph Le Roux (Univ. Paris-Nord, France)
  • John Lee (City Univ. Hong Kong)
  • Wolfgang Maier (HHU Düsseldorf, Germany)
  • Yuval Marton (Microsoft, USA)
  • David McClosky (IBM Research, USA)
  • Joakim Nivre (Uppsala Univ, Sweden)
  • Kemal Oflazer (Carnegie Mellon Univ., USA)
  • Ines Rehbein (Univ. Potsdam, Germany)
  • Djamé Seddah (Univ. Paris-Sorbonne, France)
  • Wolfgang Seeker (IMS Stuttgart, Germany)
  • Anders Søgaard (Copenhagen Univ., Denmark)
  • Lamia Tounsi (Dublin City Univ., Ireland)
  • Reut Tsarfaty (Weizmann Institute, Israel)